Hongkong Post alerts public to fraudulent voice message calls and dubious notification cards

2015.08.25

Hongkong Post has recently received enquiries from members of the public concerning suspicious voice message phone calls, with an incoming call display showing the same phone number as the Hongkong Post General Enquiry Hotline (2921 2222). The messages claim that mail items are available for their collection or request them to provide personal information.

Hongkong Post wishes to alert members of the public to the fact that its General Enquiry Hotline is an automated enquiry system and will never be used to make calls to customers.

In case of unsuccessful door delivery of mail items, the postman will leave a notification card to request the recipient to collect the mail item at the designated post office. The department name “Hongkong Post” and/or product logo, name of recipient, stamp of mail collection office and the relevant supporting documents required for the collection of mail from the recipient or their representatives are clearly printed or shown on the notification card. The following are the six types of notification cards that Hongkong Post usually use:

If members of public are in doubt about the notification card they received, they should check the information on the notification card carefully and identify the organization that issue it. Hongkong Post staff may need to contact customers by phone call or require customers to provide names and telephone numbers to facilitate handling of their enquiries or cases. However, Hongkong Post staff will not ask for other personal information such as identity card number over the phone.

Members of the public should seek assistance from the Police for suspected loss of personal information. If necessary, they may call the Hongkong Post General Enquiry Hotline (2921 2222) for enquiries.

Back

香港邮政提醒市民提防伪冒语音讯息来电及不明来历的领取邮件通知卡

2015.08.25

香港邮政最近收到市民查询,指称收到来电显示与香港邮政一般查询热线(2921 2222)相同的语音讯息来电,讯息声称有邮件待其领取或要求提供个人资料。

香港邮政特此提醒市民,香港邮政一般查询热线为自动语音系统,不会用作联络市民。

一般而言,邮差如未能成功上门派递邮件,会向收件人发出领取邮件通知卡,收件人应凭卡到指定邮政局领件。通知卡上会清楚印有“香港邮政”的部门名称及/或产品标志、注明收件人姓名、盖上领件邮政局局印,以及注明收件人或其代表在领件时须出示的证明文件等。本署常用的领取邮件通知卡有以下六款:

若市民对接获的领件通知卡存疑,应小心查阅通知卡上的资料及辨识发卡的机构。此外,香港邮政在处理查询或个案时,或会有职员 以电话联络顾客,要求顾客提供姓名及电话号码作联络之用,但香港邮政职员不会在电话中要求顾客提供其他个人资料(如身份证号码)等。

如市民怀疑被骗取个人资料,应向警方求助。如有需要,可致电香港邮政一般查询热线2921 2222查询。

返回