New Arrangements for EU Value-added Tax (VAT) and Import One-Stop Shop (IOSS) (Effective from 1 July 2021) – Revised version

2021.12.09

Posting of Commercial Goods

According to the European Union (EU), for sending (including through postal channel) commercial goods (including merchandise sold online) to the business users (B2B) or consumers (B2C) in the EU, value-added tax (VAT) will be levied, irrespective of what the value is, from 1 July 2021 onwards. Major changes include:

  1. The existing VAT exemption for the importation of goods to EU countries with a value not exceeding €22 is removed.
  2. The sellers (senders) instead of the buyers (addressees) will be responsible for VAT payment.

EU launched the Import One-Stop Shop (IOSS) to facilitate the declaration and payment of VAT by sellers for imported goods valued at less than EUR 150 to buyers within the EU. If the seller can provide their registered IOSS VAT identification number when mailing the goods, the buyer does not need to pay VAT upon customs clearance.

If a seller has not registered with the IOSS, the buyer has to pay the VAT at the time of import for customs clearance before they could receive the goods according to the current procedures. Furthermore, additional surcharges incurred may be charged to the buyer. The delivery may also be subject to delay.

For further information, please refer to website of the European Union https://ec.europa.eu/taxation_customs/business/vat/ioss_en.

Postings of Personal Items*

The new arrangement has no impact on posting personal items. Items with declared value of less than €45 posted by private senders to private addressees are VAT free. IOSS is not applicable to these items. However, if the declared value exceeds €45, the VAT must be paid by the addressee according to the current practice. In addition, the addressee may have to pay other import taxes or relevant fees as required by the customs authorities of certain EU destinations, and comply with other import requirements.

*The decision rests with the local customs authority on whether the mail item is for personal or commercial use.

Back

歐盟增值稅新安排及進口一站式服務 (2021年7月1日起生效)- 修訂版

2021.12.09

投寄商品

據歐洲聯盟(歐盟)表示,由2021年7月1日起,投寄(包括經郵政渠道)商品(包括網上銷售商品)予歐盟的商業用戶(B2B)或消費者(B2C),不論商品價值多少,一概須徵收增值稅(VAT)。主要變更包括:

  1. 取消進口歐盟的商品如價值不超過€22可獲豁免增值稅的安排。
  2. 負責繳付增值稅的是賣家(寄件人)而非買家(收件人)。

為方便境內外賣家向身處歐盟的買家投寄商品時,可便捷地申報和繳納價值不超過€150的進口商品的增值稅,歐盟現已推出進口一站式服務(Import One-Stop Shop,簡稱IOSS)。賣家只需在投寄商品時提供IOSS增值稅識別號碼,買家便無需在商品清關時才支付增值稅。

如賣家未有註冊使用IOSS,買家則需按現行程序於商品進口清關時繳付增值稅,方可收取貨品。買家可能需額外繳付附加費,而商品派遞可能亦會因此有所延誤。

如需要更詳細的資料,請參閱歐盟網站:https://ec.europa.eu/taxation_customs/business/vat/ioss_en

投寄個人物品*

新措施不影響投寄個人物品,如以個人投寄價值少於€45的物品予收件人作私人用途(即C2C),可獲豁免增值稅。IOSS亦不適用於此郵件類型。若投寄物品價值超過€45,仍需按照現行規例,相關的增值稅須由收件人支付。此外,收件人或需按個別歐盟目的地海關要求,另外繳付其他進口稅或相關費用,以及遵守其他入口規定。

*由當地海關決定郵件屬個人用途或商業用途

返回