Middle-aged families, large public housing estates, tend to work in manufacturing, construction and transportation, storage, postal and courier services

Down-to-Earth Public Renters are people who enjoy the benefit of subsidized public rental housing benefits from the Housing Authority or Housing Society of the government. They are middle-aged, low to middle-income families with adult children in suburban public housing estates. Many of them are people who migrated from The Mainland to Hong Kong for decades. Some people may have accumulated some wealth that comes from savings due to low rent, or contributions from grown-up children that have started their careers. With low education levels or none, they mainly work in industries of manufacturing, construction, transportation, storage, and postal and courier services. They travel by bus or MTR to work.

Down-to-Earth Public Renters mainly live in suburban public housing estates that are mainly located in the New Territories. Representative areas include but not limited to Tseung Kwan O, Ma On Shan, Tai Po, Tin Shui Wai, and Tuen Mun.

H23 Down-to-Earth Owners

Tenants Purchase Scheme (TPS), slightly better-off in public tenants, small in family sizes

Down-to-Earth Owners are relatively better-off people in the public housing renter group who can afford to purchase their rental flat from the government. They are middle-aged, small families with adult children who may not live together. They are Hong Kong Chinese who speak Cantonese. They are generally lower in educational qualifications, and plenty of them completed primary education levels only. They work as craft and related workers, plant and machine operators and assemblers, service and sales workers, and clerical support workers. Under TPS, many of them bought their subsidized apartment from the government and have mostly paid off mortgages. They travel by bus or MTR to work.

Down-to-Earth Owners live in the public housing estates that are under the Tenants Purchase Scheme (TPS) of the Housing Authority. Representative estates include but not limited to Wah Kwai Estate, Fung Tak Estate, and Po Lam Estate.

H24 Inner City Middle-Aged

Middle-aged families, low income, ň┐âublic renters, remote New Territories

Inner City Middle-Aged consist of young to middle-aged people who are singles or families with kids Due to limited primary to low secondary educational level, they tend to work in blue-collar jobs in industries such as construction and transportation, storage, and postal and courier services.

Inner City Middle-Aged live in public estates located in the remote areas of the New Territories. Representative areas include but not limited to Tai Po, North District, Tuen Mun, and Tin Shui Wai. Representative estates include but not limited to Fu Heng Estate, Wah Ming Estate, Leung King Estate, and Tin Yiu Estate.

H25 Blue Collar Families

Low incomes, mainly work in blue-collar jobs, public renters, mature public estates

Blue Collar Families consist of people who were born in The Mainland and migrated to Hong Kong years ago. They have low to middle incomes. They enjoy the low rent benefits of the subsidized housing schemes from the government that allow them to have some disposable incomes for daily expenses. Due to limited primary to secondary educational levels, they tend to have blue-collar jobs in industries such as manufacturing and transportation, storage, and postal and courier services. They travel by MTR, light rail, or bus to work.

Blue Collar Families live in more mature public estates, mainly located in the New Territories. Representative areas include but not limited to Sha Tin, Tai Po, Tuen Mun, and Yuen Long. Representative estates include but not limited to Wo Che Estate, Tai Yuen Estate, Yau Oi Estate, and Long Ping Estate.

H26 Maturing Families

Young to middle-aged families, middle-aged public estate, relatively apart from the cities

Maturing Families are relatively young to middle-aged families with teenage children who are studying in secondary or post-secondary education. Their occupations are mainly low-salary jobs in areas of service or sales. They travel mostly by MTR to work. The benefits of low rent subsidized housing flats are savings for their livings.

Maturing Families live in relatively remote public estates with low rent. Representative areas include but not limited to Yau Tong, Tseung Kwan O, Ma On Shan, and Tin Shui Wai. Representative estates include but not limited to Ko Yee Estate, Hau Tak Estate, Lee On Estate, and Tin Tsz Estate.

租者置其屋計劃(TPS)覆蓋的公屋小家庭,經濟環境稍好

踏實業主是相對富裕的公共屋邨住戶,他們根據房屋委員會租者置其屋計劃 (TPS),向政府購買其公屋單位,並且大部分已清還了按揭貸款。他們是育有成年子女的中年小家庭,子女或許同住,或許已獨自外出生活。他們的學歷普遍較低,其中很多人只完成了初中教育;因而擔任工藝和相關工人、工廠和機器操作員和裝配工、服務和銷售人員以及文書支持人員,他們一般乘坐公共汽車或港鐵上下班。

踏實業主居住在租者置其屋計劃下的公共屋邨。代表屋苑包括但不限於華貴邨、鳳德邨及寶林邨。

H24   城中中年

低收入、較年輕的中年家庭,租住新界偏遠地區的公共房屋

城中中年是較年輕的中年的中低收入家庭或個人,家庭有孩子,教育水平為小學到中學,一般從事藍領工作,特別是建築和運輸、倉儲以及物流業。

城中中年居住在新界偏遠地區的公共屋邨。代表地區包括但不限於大埔、北區、屯門及天水圍。代表屋苑包括但不限於富亨邨、華明邨、良景邨及天耀邨。

H25   藍領家庭

中、低收入藍領公屋租戶,住在樓齡偏高公共房屋

藍領家庭由一些出生在中國內地,若干年前移居香港的家庭組成。他們僅有中低收入;但享受政府補貼住房計劃的低租金福利,讓他們有一些可支配收入用於日常開支。教育水平為小學到中學,一般在製造業和運輸業、倉儲業以及郵政和快遞服務等行業從事藍領工作。他們乘坐港鐵、公共巴士、輕鐵或公共交通工具上下班。

藍領家庭居住在較為舊式的公共屋邨,主要位於新界。代表地區包括但不限於沙田、大埔、屯門及元朗。代表屋苑包括但不限於禾輋邨、大元邨、友愛邨及朗屏邨。

H26   成熟家庭

青壯年至中年家庭,住在較遠離市中心的中年公共房屋

成熟家庭相對年輕到中年的家庭,有年輕的子女正在接受中等或高等教育,他們的職業主要是服務或銷售人員。他們大多乘坐港鐵上下班。低租金令他們能夠為生活做儲蓄。

成熟家庭住在相對偏遠的公共屋邨,代表地區包括但不限於油塘、將軍澳、馬鞍山、天水圍。代表屋苑包括但不限於高怡邨、厚德邨、利安邨及天慈邨。