What is the compensation policy?

HKP shall not be held liable to any person for any loss of postal items. Nevertheless, at HKP's absolute discretion, compensation on an ex-gratia basis may be payable in respect of total loss of postal items (except mail items destined to Mexico and South Africa) in the following manner:

The Compensation Clause on e-Express Service

Due to airlines' substantial reduction in flight frequencies arising from the COVID-19 pandemic, overseas postal administrations also notify Hongkong Post that normal delivery standards cannot be guaranteed as severe delays are expected in processing inbound mail. As such, e-Express items posted on or after 9 March 2020 would not be considered as a total loss even if the delivery status* is not yet displayed on the websites within two months from the date of posting, taking into account the above special circumstances.

On the other hand, in view of the easing of the epidemic and the gradual restoration of air transportation and postal operations in various regions, to balance the interests of senders and simplify the compensation procedures, after review, e-Express items posted on or after 26 April 2021 without delivery status* displayed on the websites within two months from the date of posting will be considered a total loss.

* Delivery status refers to the status of successful delivery or attempted delivery of an e-Express item to be displayed on the websites of destination postal administrations or that of HKP (whichever shows the latest).

If HKP is satisfied that the claimant has sustained direct loss as a result of the loss of the item, an indemnity up to the following limits is payable to the claimant:

  1. HK$1,000 (for any item weighing 500g or above); or
  2. HK$500 (for any item weighing less than 500g).

The claimant should provide the receipt/invoice to substantiate the value of contents/the replacement cost of documents, which should tally with the information stated on the shipping label. No refund of postage shall be made to the claimant under any circumstances.

You may choose for extra insurance coverage (except mail items destined for Mexico and South Africa) by paying a flat rate premium of $10.5 per item with a maximum coverage of HK$5,000.

The amount of indemnity shall be:

  1. the item value declared on the shipping label; or
  2. the maximum amount of indemnity (i.e. (1) HK$1,000 (for any item weighing 500g or above); or (2) HK$500 (for any item weighing less than 500g)); or
  3. the value shown on the purchase invoice /receipt, and / or the transaction record of the articles lost (or in case of documents, the replacement cost);

whichever is the lowest among the three, but excluding any indirect loss or loss of profit. Under no circumstances will the postage be refunded to the claimant.

The sender may claim for indemnity from HKP for total loss of an item within two to four months after the date of posting. Late submission of claims will not be entertained under any circumstances. All claims should be submitted together with the following documents:

  1. Application Claim Form for e-Express Service Item (The sender can download the Application Claim Form from the EC-Ship online portal or prepare his/her own claim application form, provided that the information on and the format of the self-prepared application claim form are the same as the one downloaded from the online portal);
  2. Original or copy of Declaration of Non-receipt of e-Express Service Item (The sender can download the Declaration from the EC-Ship online portal or prepare his/her own declaration form, provided that the information on and the format of the self-prepared declaration form are the same as the one downloaded from the online portal);
  3. Original of the Certificate of Posting downloaded from the EC-Ship Online Portal. The details of the post office as well as the date and time of acceptance of the item are shown on the Certificate of Posting;
  4. A copy of the purchase invoice / receipt and / the transaction record (e.g. Paypal, eBay, Bank record).A stamped or signed invoice or an electronic invoice of the mail item with full description of the contents, quantity, value, merchant’s name, merchant’s address, merchant’s telephone number, invoice number and invoice issuance date. The claimant should provide the relevant invoice/receipt to substantiate the value of the mail item, which should tally with the information stated on the shipping label. (if the above mentioned copy of the invoice or receipt is not available, please provide other documents that can substantiate the value of the mail content); and
  5. A copy of a valid Business Registration Certificate (for an item posted under the name of a company).

For more information about submitting compensation claims for e-Express Service items, please refer to the “Terms and Conditions”.

易網遞 (e-Express)服務的賠償政策為何?

香港郵政無須就遺失的郵件對任何人負上法律責任。不過,香港郵政擁有絕對酌情決定權,可按下述方式就全件遺失的郵件作出特別賠償(寄往墨西哥、南非、俄羅斯及烏克蘭郵件除外):

易網遞服務的賠償條款

由於新型冠狀病毒疫情導致航空公司大幅削減航班,各海外郵政機關亦通知香港郵政,預計其在處理進口郵件方面會有嚴重延誤,以至難以保證派遞服務能維持正常水平。因此,由2020年3月9日起投寄的易網遞(e-Express)郵件,即使在投寄當日起計兩個月內網頁上未有顯示派遞狀況*,基於上述特殊情況,該郵件不會被視作全件遺失論。

另一方面,鑒於疫情緩和以至航空運輸及各地郵政運作已逐漸恢復,為平衡寄件人的利益及簡化賠償程序,經檢視後,自2021年4月26日或之後投寄的易網遞郵件,如在投寄當日起計兩個月內網頁上未有顯示派遞狀況*,該郵件將視作全件遺失論。

* 即目的地郵政機關或香港郵政的網頁(兩者中以顯示郵件最新狀況者為准)所示郵件成功派遞或曾嘗試派遞的狀況

香港郵政如信納索償人因郵件全件遺失而蒙受直接損失,會向索償人發出賠償,上限為:

  1. 港幣1,000元(適用於500克或以上的郵件);或
  2. 港幣500元(適用於500克以下的郵件)。

索償人須提供相關收據/發票以證明郵件內載物品的價值/補辦替代文件所需費用,而該價值/費用須與郵寄標籤上所列資料相符。索償人在任何情況下均不會獲退回郵費。

您可選擇購買附加保險服務(寄往墨西哥、南非、俄羅斯及烏克蘭郵件除外)。保費劃一為每件郵件港幣10元,最高保障額為港幣5,000元。

賠償款額為:

  1. 「投寄易」郵寄標籤上的申報郵件價值;或
  2. 最高賠償額,即(1)港幣1,000元(適用於500克或以上的郵件)或 (2) 港幣500元(適用於500克以下的郵件);或
  3. 購買有關物品的購買發票/單據及/或交易紀錄所示的價值。如屬文件則不會超過其重置成本;

上述三項價值以最低者為準。但不包括間接損失或利潤虧損;索償人在任何情況下均不會獲退回郵費。

寄件人可於投寄當日起計兩個月後(但不超過四個月)就全件遺失的郵件向香港郵政提出索償。無論如何,逾期提交的索償申請一概不獲處理。所有索償申請須連同以下文件提交:

  1. 易網遞服務(e-Express)郵件索償申請表格(寄件人可從「投寄易網上平台」下載索償申請表格。寄件人亦可自行印製索償申請表格,惟該自行印製的索償申請表格的格式及資料,須與從上述網上平台下載的索償申請表格的格式及資料相同);
  2. 收件人未有收到易網遞服務郵件聲明書的正本或副本(寄件人可從「投寄易網上平台」下載聲明書。寄件人亦可自行印製聲明書,惟該自行印製的聲明書的格式及資料,須與從上述網上平台下載的聲明書的格式及資料相同);
  3. 從「投寄易網上平台」下載的投寄證明書的正本。投寄證明書載有郵政局名稱、櫃位收寄郵件的日期及時間;
  4. 有效購買發票/單據副本及/或交易紀錄(如Paypal、eBay、銀行付款記錄等),列明內載物品詳細說明、數量、價值、商戶名稱、商戶地址、商戶電話、發票編號及發票發出日期的蓋章或簽名發票或電子發票。索償人須提供相關發票以證明郵件價值,該價值須與郵寄標籤上的資料相符。(如未能提供上述發票或單據副本,請提供其他可證明內載物品價值的文件) ;以及
  5. 有效的商業登記證副本(如以公司名義投寄)。

請參閱條款及細則,查閱有關易網遞 (e-Express)服務的賠償事宜。