Special mail delivery arrangement during the pandemic

To reduce social contacts, postmen will not require the recipient at the delivery address to sign at postman’s personal digital assistant (PDA) for acknowledgement of receipt. The delivery result will be recorded by the postman concerned.

To tie in with the development of the epidemic and the Government's home isolation/quarantine arrangements, for buildings with residents tested positive in the past 7 days, we would attempt to contact the addressees/occupants by telephone*/building intercom before arranging delivery of items requiring signature for receipt from 23 September 2022. If there are no confirmed cases in the units, we will arrange door delivery. If there are confirmed cases in the units or if we are unable to ascertain the situation, mail items requiring signature for receipt, which can be fully inserted into the letter box, will be delivered into the letter boxes in the lobbies with records marked (other service features such as mail tracking will be maintained). For mail items which cannot be inserted into the letter box, mail collection notification cards will be issued for mail collection at the nearby post offices. To allow senders and addressees to grasp the actual delivery status of items requiring signature for receipt, our mail tracking webpage will clearly indicate if a mail item has been delivered to the letter box.

To safeguard the health of the public and our delivery staff, please wear a mask while receiving mail at door.

*Only applicable to Speedpost items with addressee’s phone number provided

For details, please refer to the following link: https://www.hongkongpost.hk/en/other/2020/anti_epidemic/index.html.

Mail delivery service is performed from Monday to Friday, only express delivery, viz. Speedpost and Local CourierPost services, will be available on Saturday. No mail delivery services will be provided on Sunday and public holidays unless it is so announced. All mail will be delivered once except those otherwise stated. For mail items requiring signature for receipt or those with sizes which cannot fit through letter boxes, postmen will attempt door delivery. In case of unsuccessful door delivery, postmen will issue mail collection notification cards with which the recipients collect the mail from designated post offices.

Mail item is delivered according to the address indicated (i.e. delivery to the address) but not to the designated addressee as given on the mail item. Hongkong Post only delivers mail items with complete and deliverable addresses. Apart from complete addresses of recipients, senders should also indicate their return addresses in case of unsuccessful delivery. Local addresses should include the following information (where applicable) :

Order of local mail address should be name of addressee, flat/room and floor number, building name, building number, street name, district and region

Please refer to the link below for details on correct address format:

Make good use of “Correct Addressing” tool and include sender’s address for proper delivery

For houses in villages, Hongkong Post would consider providing door delivery service only when the houses are allocated with official building numbers by the Rating and Valuation Department (RVD) Note 1. For owners or occupants of houses who wish to apply for building numbers, please download the application form the RVD website at www.rvd.gov.hk and send the completed form, together with the required documents, to the RVD.

All mail items are delivered according to the addresses indicated. Mail items bearing incorrect or undeliverable addresses Note 2 will be returned to senders. If such items bear no senders’ addresses, disposal will be arranged according to our established procedures. We will not contact the recipients or senders even if telephone numbers are present on the mail items Note 3.

Therefore, senders are strongly advised to ensure the correctness and completeness of both recipients’ and senders’ addresses before posting.

Note 1: For houses in villages with building numbers allocated, the availability of door delivery service is still subject to the accessibility of such houses and whether it is reasonably convenient for our Postmen to carry out their duties. For houses in villages without official building numbers allocated by the RVD, we suggest these villages to install residents’ nested letter boxes for receiving ordinary mail.

Note 2: Undeliverable addresses refer to those without the information that an address should include, such as name of the street, building number, name of the building, flat/room and floor numbers, and including only the lot number is an example under this category.

Note 3: Except for Speedpost, Local CourierPost items, Local and Inward Registered mail, e-Express and Insured Parcel.

疫情期間特別郵件派遞安排

為減少社交接觸,郵差上門派遞須簽收的郵件時,不會要求收件人在郵差的電子手帳上簽署,並會於郵件派遞後記錄派遞結果。

就已納入強制檢測公告的大廈/地點,派遞服務會在強制檢測期間暫停。

因應疫情的發展及政府居家隔離/家居檢疫的安排,由2022年9月23日起,就過去7天內有陽性檢測個案的大廈,派遞須簽收郵件前,香港郵政會嘗試聯絡收件人/住戶,如單位沒有確診個案,郵差會上門派遞郵件。如單位有確診個案或未能確定情況,須簽收的小型郵件會放入大堂信箱並記錄派遞結果(其他服務如郵件追蹤維持不變),而大型郵件則會發出領取郵件通知卡,通知收件人到就近郵政局領取。香港郵政郵件追蹤網頁會清楚列明該郵件已派遞到信箱,讓寄件人和收件人知悉個別須簽收郵件的實際派遞情況。

為保障市民及派遞人員的健康,請於郵差上門派件時佩戴口罩。

詳情請瀏覽以下連結https://www.hongkongpost.hk/tc/other/2020/anti_epidemic/index.html

香港郵政逢星期一至五派遞郵件,星期六只提供指定急件派遞服務,即特快專遞及本地郵政速遞。除非另行公告,否則星期日及公眾假期均不會提供郵件派遞服務。所有郵件均只會派遞一次,另作特別註明者除外。須簽收或體積過大而未能放進信箱的郵件,郵差會上門派遞。如上門派遞時無人收件,郵差會發出領取郵件通知卡,屆時收件人須前往指定郵政局領件。

香港郵政以「按址派遞」原則派遞郵件(即按照郵件上的收件地址進行派遞),而非按照郵件上註明的收件人派遞郵件,同時只會為附有完整可派遞地址的郵件提供派遞服務。寄件人除須註明完整收件人地址外,亦應寫上寄件人地址以便在郵件未能成功派遞時退回。本地地址應包括以下資料(如適用):

本地郵件地址應順序為區域、地區、街道名稱及門牌號數、建築物名稱、樓層、單位/室及收件人姓名

若要尋找正確地址寫法,請參考以下連結:

善用正確地址搜尋工具 加上寄件人地址最穩妥

當鄉村的獨立房屋已編配差餉物業估價署的樓宇門牌號數,香港郵政方考慮提供到戶派遞服務註1。房屋擁有人或使用人欲申請樓宇門牌號數,可登入差餉物業估價署網頁www.rvd.gov.hk下載及填妥該有關表格及連同所需文件,寄交差餉物業估價署辦理。

派遞郵差須按址派遞。如郵件上的地址不正確或為非派遞地址註2,香港郵政會將郵件退回寄件人;若郵件上沒有寄件人地址,郵件會按既定程序銷毀。即使郵件上附有電話號碼,本署人員亦不會聯絡收件人/寄件人跟進註3。故此,投寄前請確保郵件地址完整正確,並有回郵地址。

註1:縱使鄉村的房屋已獲編配樓宇門牌號數,我們還需考慮房屋位置是否易於到達及會否對派遞人員在執行職務時造成困難,方能決定是否提供到戶派遞服務。沒有差餉物業估價署編配樓宇門牌號數的鄉村房屋,香港郵政建議鄉村組織設置居民組合信箱收取普通信件。

註2:非派遞地址是指沒有包含地址所應包括的資料,即街道名稱、門牌號數、建築物名稱、樓層、單位/室等,如只包含地段編號即屬此類。

註3 :特快專遞、本地郵政速遞郵件及保險包裹除外。