Privacy Policy

The protection of privacy in relation to personal data is the concern of every staff in Hongkong Post. We respect personal data privacy and are committed to fully implementing and complying with the data protection principles and all relevant provisions of the Personal Data (Privacy) Ordinance.

When we collect personal data from individuals, we will provide them with a Personal Information Collection Statement ("PICS") on or before the collection in an appropriate format and manner, such as in the same paper form or web page that collects the personal data.

Personal Data being Held

Hongkong Post holds the following types of personal data:

  1. Personnel Records of Hongkong Post Staff

  2. Records on Consultants, Suppliers and Contractors

  3. Customer Records and Business-related Data

  4. Other Records

Main Purposes of Keeping Personal Data

Personnel records are kept for recruitment and human resources management purposes, relating to such matters as job applications, employees' appointment, employment benefits, termination of employment, performance appraisal and discipline, etc.

Personal data of consultants, suppliers and contractors are held to facilitate the processing and award of contracts and for the monitoring of performance of contractors / consultants to fulfil the requirements of contracts awarded.

Customer records and business-related data are held for activities relating to the provision of postal services; processing of service applications; promotion of postal and related services and products; Hongkong Post's membership programmes; statistical analysis; development of postal and related services and products; and handling of enquiries and complaints.

Other records are kept for various purposes depending on the nature of the records, such as office security, handling daily postal operations, etc.

Information Collected When You Visit Our Websites

When you visit our website, we record your visit only as a 'hit' and do not collect any personally identifiable information about you. The ‘hit' information is to allow us to compile general statistics to show the number of visitors to our website.

We collect personal data from our site visitors on a voluntary basis. Personal information may include name, telephone number, address or e-mail address. The information is used only by us for the purposes stated in the respective screens which invite you to provide your data. We do not use your personal data for any other purposes without your prior consent unless such use is permitted or required by law.

Our general policy is to disclose no personally identifiable information to third parties except as required by law.

All personal data you provide to us on our website may only be accessed by authorised personnel. Our online ordering process uses SSL protocol link for data transmission so as to protect all personal data you send to us.

From time to time, we may use information we collect about you for e-mailing promotional materials about our products to you. If you do not wish to receive further promotional e-mails from us, please e-mail the Departmental Data Protection Officer at hkpo@hkpo.gov.hk or write to the following address by post:

Departmental Data Protection Officer [GM(MS)]
Hongkong Post
Hongkong Post Headquarters
2 Connaught Place
Central
HONG KONG

Protection Measures

Hongkong Post takes appropriate steps to protect the personal data it holds against loss, or unauthorised access, use, modification or disclosure.

Retention

Hongkong Post maintains and executes retention policies of records containing personal data to ensure that personal data is not kept longer than is necessary for the fulfilment of the purpose for which the data is collected or is to be used. Different retention periods apply to various kinds of personal data collected and held by Hongkong Post in accordance with its policies on personal data protection.

Data Access and Correction

Under the Personal Data (Privacy) Ordinance, you have a right to request access to or correction of the data about you being held by us. If you wish to do so, please complete the Data Access Request Form (Pos736) or Personal Data Correction Request Form (Pos736A) and return it to any post office or send it to our Personal Data Privacy Officer by e-mail or by post. The Data Access Request Form and Personal Data Correction Request Form are also available at all post offices.

We may charge a reasonable fee for processing a data access request. For reference purpose, a photocopying charge of HK$1.3 per page (A4 size) and HK$1.5 per page (A3 size) (black and white copy) will be levied in relation to your requested information. The charge is subject to revision from time to time.

Enquiries

Any enquiries regarding our personal data privacy policy and practices may be addressed to the Departmental Data Protection Officer via e-mail to hkpo@hkpo.gov.hk or by post to the following address:

Departmental Data Protection Officer [GM(MS)]
Hongkong Post
Hongkong Post Headquarters
2 Connaught Place
Central
HONG KONG

Personal Information Collection Statement (PICS)

私隐政策

香港邮政每位员工均以保障个人资料私隐为己任。我们尊重个人资料私隐,并且全力执行和遵守保障资料原则,以及《个人资料(私隐)条例》的各项有关规定。

我们向个别人士收集个人资料前,会以适当的形式及方法向他们提供《收集个人资料声明》,例如在收集个人资料的表格或网页上提供声明。

持有的个人资料

香港邮政持有下列类别的个人资料:

  1. 香港邮政的人事记录

  2. 顾问公司、供应商及承办商的记录

  3. 客户及商业相关资料

  4. 其他记录

保存个人资料的主要用途

保存人事记录,以作招聘及人力资源管理用途,包括处理职位申请、雇员聘用、员工福利、离职、工作表现评核和纪律等事宜。

保存顾问公司、供应商及承办商的个人资料,以方便部门处理和批出合约,以及监管承办商或顾问的表现是否达到合约要求。

保存客户及商业相关资料,以便提供邮政服务、处理服务申请、推广邮政和相关服务及产品、提供会员活动、进行统计分析、发展邮政和相关服务或产品,以及处理查询和投诉等。

保存其他记录,以作不同用途,视乎记录的性质而定,例如办公室保安、处理日常邮务运作等。

经香港邮政网站收集的资料

当你浏览网站时,香港邮政只会记录你曾“点击”网站,不会从中收集任何足以辨识个别人士身分的资料。“点击”资料有助香港邮政整理网站浏览人数的综合统计数字。

香港邮政向网站浏览人士收集个人资料,全属自愿性质。我们收集的个人资料或会包括姓名、电话号码、地址或电邮地址,并会在收集资料时于荧幕上说明收集资料的目的,而所得资料亦只会用于所述用途。除非所作用途为法例容许又或属法例规定,否则未经你事先同意,你的个人资料不会作其他用途。

香港邮政的一般政策是,除法例规定外,否则不会向第三者披露任何足以辨识个别人士身分的资料。

你透过香港邮政网址提供的所有资料均会保密,只有获授权人员可以查阅。我们的网上订购系统以传输层安全标准(TLS)作资料传送,确保你所提供的资料得到足够保护。

我们或会根据有关资料,不时把产品推广资料透过电邮传送给你。如你不愿再收到推广资料,请电邮至hkpo@hkpo.gov.hk或邮寄至以下地址与部门资料保障主任联络:

香港中环康乐广场2号
邮政总局
香港邮政
部门资料保障主任

保障措施

香港邮政采取适当步骤以保障所持有的个人资料免受丧失、未经准许的查阅、使用、修改或披露。

保留资料

香港邮政维持及执行载有个人资料的记录的保留政策,以确保个人资料的保存时间不会超过将其保存以贯彻该资料被使用于或会被使用于的目的而所需的时间。根据保障个人资料的政策,香港邮政所收集及持有的各类个人资料是有不同的保留时间。

查阅及更改资料

根据《个人资料(私隐)条例》,你有权查阅或更改香港邮政保存有关你的个人资料。如需查阅或更改资料,请填妥《查阅资料要求表格》(Pos736)《改正个人资料要求表格》(Pos736A),然后交回任何一间邮政局或寄交香港邮政个人资料私隐主任。《查阅资料要求表格》和 《改正个人资料要求表格》亦可于各邮政局索取。

我们可就处理查阅个人资料的要求收取合理费用。如有需要,我们会向你收取查阅所需资料的影印费,现有收费为:A4纸(黑白影印)每张港币1.3元,A3纸(黑白影印)每张港币1.5元,以作参考。影印费会不时作出调整。

查询

任何有关个人资料私隐政策及实务的查询,请电邮至hkpo@hkpo.gov.hk或邮寄至以下地址向部门资料保障主任提出:

香港中环康乐广场2号
邮政总局
香港邮政
部门资料保障主任

收集个人资料声明收集个人资料声明